About the Program

Located in an urban hospital setting, VCU’s Emergency Medicine Residency offers the opportunity to work alongside some of the brightest medical minds in the country.

VCU Medical Center is home to Virginia’s only Level 1 trauma center certified in adult, pediatric and burn care, which sees more than 100,000 patients each year. Residents develop resuscitation and critical care skills from training in the emergency department and rotating in multiple intensive care units. The program provides focused education in the multiple subspecialty areas of emergency medicibe.

Faculty and staff are readily available to help residents reach their full potential as physicians, and we seek to instill the highest professional standards so that graduates go on to provide top-quality and equitable care in hospitals across the country and advance the specialty of emergency medicine through scholarly activity and innovative research.  

Why VCU?

At VCU, residents get a unique, well-rounded experience in one of only five Level I trauma centers in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Here are just a few factors that make our program stand out among the rest:

  • Comprehensive training at a high-acuity academic medical center with a significant dedication to underserved populations
  • State-of-the-art clinical and educational methods and technology to deliver hands-on education along with individualized personal and professional development for each of our residents
  • Nationally renowned faculty members who are dedicated to teaching and training future leaders
  • A diverse, inclusive work environment with a focus on equity in emergency medicine
  • A family-like atmosphere that promotes wellness, resilience and community

Curriculum

Designed to maximize residents’ proficiency and comfort in treating a broad spectrum of patients, our curriculum relies heavily on educational experiences within the emergency department (ED) and focused training in subspecialty areas.

Specialized Rotations

Residents get exposure to specialized areas of emergency medicine to enhance their ability to handle any scenario and to help them identify areas they may want to pursue for future study and development.

Longitudinal Tracks

Student working with simulation modelWe provide our second- and third-year residents the optional opportunity to choose a longitudinal track for additional training in a niche within emergency medicine. Residents focus on one topic and follow a defined curriculum over the course of the academic year, with reduced shift requirements to contribute time toward this pursuit. 

Residents may choose from a variety of tracks already available or assist us in the creation of a new track. Longitudinal tracks currently include:

  • Administration 
  • Education 
  • EMS 
  • Evidence-based medicine 
  • Global health 
  • Pediatric emergency medicine 
  • Psychiatric emergencies
  • Quality improvement
  • Research 
  • Sports medicine 
  • Toxicology
  • Ultrasound
  • Wilderness medicine  

Didactics

Each week of the academic year includes five hours of educational activities, during which residents are excused from clinical duty. These educational opportunities include the following: 

  • Conference design based on adult learning theory 
  • Class-specific small group education, including a resident-led, longitudinal, evidence-based performance improvement curriculum 
  • Grand rounds featuring national, regional and locally renowned speakers 
  • Joint conferences with the Departments of Internal Medicine and Surgery 
  • Two hours per conference day using small group learning or simulation, during which residents rotate through stations including oral boards, ultrasound, high-fidelity simulator cases and common procedure practice 
  • Monthly journal clubs at local restaurants or faculty homes to discuss articles, often with faculty from other departments 

Resident Life

Residency is both exciting and challenging. Having graduated from medical school and chosen a specialty, residents are finally doctors, making crucial decisions that affect patients’ lives every day. It is both an immense honor and a huge responsibility, and we do everything we can to help residents navigate the demanding landscape of emergency medicine. 

Our program requires hard work, personal growth and career development, but it wouldn’t be complete without activities outside of work that foster community, promote balance and prevent burnout. 

Each year, emergency medicine residents participate in the following activities outside their clinical and academic duties: 

  • An overnight retreat at a location chosen by our resident wellness committee 
  • Weekly conferences and journal clubs where residents are able to interact with a variety of faculty
  • Challenge Discovery, a teambuilding and leadership development program that includes a high ropes course and other boundary-pushing activities  
  • Multiple activities supported by residency combining education and wellness in emergency medicine 

Life in Richmond

Urban life with a small-town feel

We encourage our students, residents and fellows to maintain a healthy work-life balance, and Richmond is a wonderful place to engage in that well-rounded lifestyle. As the capital of Virginia since 1779, Richmond attracts students, faculty and staff from around the globe. The city’s location affords easy day trips to destinations like Washington, DC, Virginia Beach, Colonial Williamsburg and the Blue Ridge Mountains, among others.

As a mid-sized city with a metropolitan population of 1.3 million, Richmond provides stimulating activities while maintaining its intimate feel and unique vibe. Vibrant neighborhoods offer distinct, diverse experiences, with no shortage of art galleries, museums, music venues, restaurants, breweries and parks. For the outdoor enthusiast, you can’t beat the offerings in the city’s riverfront parks and urban wilderness areas such as white-water rafting, hiking, mountain biking and festivals.

Learn more about our community.

Salary and Benefits

VCU is proud to offer competitive salaries compared to housestaff across the Commonwealth of Virginia. Cost of living adjustments occur each year.

How to Apply

We adhere to VCU’s statement of nondiscrimination, equal opportunity and affirmative action, and welcome and encourage a diverse, inclusive residency program.

The VCU Department of Emergency Medicine participates in the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP), and prospective residents can apply using the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) offered by the Association of American Medical Colleges. 

Each year we accept 10 residents through the match, plus two residents from the Air Force. Air Force applicants may apply through the Medical Operational Data System, which is only accessible from computers on a military network. We also accept two residents annually for the combined Emergency Medicine and Internal Medicine (EM-IM) Residency. Learn more about our EM-IM program here. 

Applicants must have a medical degree, acceptable medical examination scores and at least three letters of recommendation from physicians with personal knowledge of the applicant’s clinical abilities and personal characteristics. A standard letter of evaluation (SLOE) is highly recommended, however due to the impact of COVID-19, we will not expect more than one SLOE this application cycle.

Joel Moll, MD, FACEP

Joel Moll, MD, FACEP

Program Director

Joel Moll, MD, FACEP

Joel Moll, MD, FACEP

Program Director

Emergency Medicine

Email: joel.moll@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Peter Moffett, MD, FACEP

Peter Moffett, MD, FACEP

Associate Program Director

Peter Moffett, MD, FACEP

Peter Moffett, MD, FACEP

Associate Program Director

Emergency Medicine

Email: peter.moffett@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Stephen Miller, DO

Stephen Miller, DO

Assistant Program Director

Stephen Miller, DO

Stephen Miller, DO

Assistant Program Director

Emergency Medicine

Email: stephen.miller@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Nathan Lewis, MD, FACEP

Nathan Lewis, MD, FACEP

Assistant Program Director

Nathan Lewis, MD, FACEP

Nathan Lewis, MD, FACEP

Assistant Program Director

Emergency Medicine

Email: nathan.lewis@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Kevin Keller, MS

Kevin Keller, MS

Program Coordinator

Kevin Keller, MS

Kevin Keller, MS

Program Coordinator

Emergency Medicine

Email: kevin.keller@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Jessica May

Jessica May

Program Coordinator

Jessica May

Jessica May

Program Coordinator

Emergency Medicine

Email: jessica.may@vcuhealth.org

Read More

PGY-3

Benjamin Barmaan, MD

Benjamin Barmaan, MD

Benjamin Barmaan, MD

Benjamin Barmaan, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: benjamin.barmaan@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Peter Bolaji, MD

Peter Bolaji, MD

Peter Bolaji, MD

Peter Bolaji, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: peter.bolaji@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Lily Daniel, DO

Lily Daniel, DO

Lily Daniel, DO

Lily Daniel, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: lily.daniel@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Adam Hemminger, MD

Adam Hemminger, MD

Adam Hemminger, MD

Adam Hemminger, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: adam.hemminger@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Alexandra Lambert, DO

Alexandra Lambert, DO

Alexandra Lambert, DO

Alexandra Lambert, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: alexandra.lambert@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Ryan McLaughlin, MD

Ryan McLaughlin, MD

Ryan McLaughlin, MD

Ryan McLaughlin, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: ryan.mclaughlin@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Kendall J. Shaw, MD

Kendall J. Shaw, MD

Kendall J. Shaw, MD

Kendall J. Shaw, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: kendall.shaw@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Derek Thackston, MD

Derek Thackston, MD

Derek Thackston, MD

Derek Thackston, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: derek.thackston@vcuhealth.org

Read More

David Tidwell, DO

David Tidwell, DO

David Tidwell, DO

David Tidwell, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: robert.tidwell@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Christopher Velasquez, DO

Christopher Velasquez, DO

Christopher Velasquez, DO

Christopher Velasquez, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: christopher.velasquez@vcuhealth.org

Read More

David Vennard, DO

David Vennard, DO

David Vennard, DO

David Vennard, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: david.vennard@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Joseph Wiener, MD

Joseph Wiener, MD

Joseph Wiener, MD

Joseph Wiener, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: joseph.wiener@vcuhealth.org

Read More

PGY-2

Connor Carry, MD

Connor Carry, MD

Connor Carry, MD

Connor Carry, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: connor.carry@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Catherine Dong, MD

Catherine Dong, MD

Catherine Dong, MD

Catherine Dong, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: catherine.dong@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Marcus Forbes, DO

Marcus Forbes, DO

Marcus Forbes, DO

Marcus Forbes, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: marcus.forbes@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Nisha George, DO

Nisha George, DO

Nisha George, DO

Nisha George, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: nisha.george@vcuhealth.org

Read More

John Hutchison, DO, MPH

John Hutchison, DO, MPH

John Hutchison, DO, MPH

John Hutchison, DO, MPH

Emergency Medicine

Email: john.hutchison@vcuheatlh.org

Zachary Jenkins, MD

Zachary Jenkins, MD

Zachary Jenkins, MD

Zachary Jenkins, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: zachary.jenkins@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Dan Keller, MD

Dan Keller, MD

Dan Keller, MD

Dan Keller, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: daniel.keller@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Nicholet Mitchell, DO

Nicholet Mitchell, DO

Nicholet Mitchell, DO

Nicholet Mitchell, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: nicholet.mitchell@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Rachel Noto, MD

Rachel Noto, MD

Rachel Noto, MD

Rachel Noto, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: rachel.noto@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Benjamin Quigley, MD, MPH

Benjamin Quigley, MD, MPH

Benjamin Quigley, MD, MPH

Benjamin Quigley, MD, MPH

Emergency Medicine

Email: benjamin.quigley@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Andrew Sondag, MD

Andrew Sondag, MD

Andrew Sondag, MD

Andrew Sondag, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: andrew.sondag@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Jeffrey Strojny, MD

Jeffrey Strojny, MD

Jeffrey Strojny, MD

Jeffrey Strojny, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: jeffrey.strojny@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Franck Tameze-Rivas, MD, MBA

Franck Tameze-Rivas, MD, MBA

Franck Tameze-Rivas, MD, MBA

Franck Tameze-Rivas, MD, MBA

Emergency Medicine

Email: franck.tamezerivas@vcuhealth.org

Read More

PGY1

Robert Adams, DO

Robert Adams, DO

Robert Adams, DO

Robert Adams, DO

Emergency Medicine

Read More

Mona Ahmed, DO

Mona Ahmed, DO

Mona Ahmed, DO

Mona Ahmed, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: mona.ahmed@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Andrew Alberter, MD

Andrew Alberter, MD

Andrew Alberter, MD

Andrew Alberter, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: andrew.alberter@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Chris Brown, MD

Chris Brown, MD

Chris Brown, MD

Chris Brown, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: christopher.k.brown@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Anna Cline, MD

Anna Cline, MD

Anna Cline, MD

Anna Cline, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: anna.cline@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Naimah Dease, MD

Naimah Dease, MD

Naimah Dease, MD

Naimah Dease, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: naimah.dease@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Ben Del Buono, MD

Ben Del Buono, MD

Ben Del Buono, MD

Ben Del Buono, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: benedict.delbuono.vcuhealth.org

Read More

Russell Dowell, DO

Russell Dowell, DO

Russell Dowell, DO

Russell Dowell, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: russell.w.dowell@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Melissa Edwards, DO

Melissa Edwards, DO

Melissa Edwards, DO

Melissa Edwards, DO

Emergency Medicine

Email: melissa.edwards@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Kolten Fischer, MD

Kolten Fischer, MD

Kolten Fischer, MD

Kolten Fischer, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: kolten.petersonfischer@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Allen Noakes, MD

Allen Noakes, MD

Allen Noakes, MD

Allen Noakes, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: david.noakes@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Patrick Ufkes, MD

Patrick Ufkes, MD

Patrick Ufkes, MD

Patrick Ufkes, MD

Emergency Medicine

Email: patrick.ufkes@vcuhealth.org

Read More