About the Program

In an ever-changing landscape of modern healthcare, our combined residency program addresses the growing need for dual-trained physicians.

Students working with simulation modelVCU’s combined Emergency Medicine and Internal Medicine (EM-IM) Residency puts equal emphasis on emergency, inpatient and ambulatory patient care so that graduating residents will be prepared to practice in any combination of settings and be leaders of clinical, administrative and academic medicine. With comprehensive training across two specialties, we aim to equip future leaders to be competent practitioners in the rapidly changing environments of emergency and internal medicine.

Affiliated with the VCU Medical Center and the Hunter Holmes McGuire Veterans Affairs (VA) Medical Center, our program was the 12th EM-IM residency to be established in the U.S. Many of our past residents have accepted academic positions after graduating, and we’re proud of their ability to utilize both aspects of their training. 

In addition to core curriculum, upper level residents have the unique opportunity to choose a track and enhance their knowledge and skills in their particular area of interest which may include:

  • Clinical toxicology 
  • Clinical ultrasound 
  • Global health 
  • Observation medicine

Rotations

Each year, residents rotate between the Departments of Emergency Medicine and Internal Medicine. Internal Medicine employs tandem scheduling with rotations alternating between inpatient and outpatient settings. Didactic requirements include monthly journal club sessions and regularly scheduled conferences.

Salary and Benefits

VCU is proud to offer one of the highest resident salaries in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Cost of living adjustments occur each year.

How to Apply

Join our talented and dedicated team

The VCU Department of Emergency Medicine participates in the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP), and prospective residents can apply using the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) offered by the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Applicants must have a medical degree, acceptable medical examination scores and a minimum of four letters of recommendation, including at least one Standardized Letter of Evaluation (SLOE) from an EM rotation and one IM Chair letter.

Program Director

Pawan Suri, MD

Pawan Suri, MD

Associate Professor

Pawan Suri, MD

Pawan Suri, MD

Associate Professor

Division of Observation Medicine

EM-IM Residency Program Director
Division of Observation Medicine Chair

Email: pawan.suri@vcuhealth.org

Joel Moll, MD, FACEP

Joel Moll, MD, FACEP

Associate Professor

Joel Moll, MD, FACEP

Joel Moll, MD, FACEP

Associate Professor

EM Residency Program Director
Medical Education Fellowship Director

Email: joel.moll@vcuhealth.org

Stephanie Ann Call, MD, MSPH

Stephanie Ann Call, MD, MSPH

Professor

Stephanie Ann Call, MD, MSPH

Stephanie Ann Call, MD, MSPH

Professor

Department of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine Residency Program Director

Email: stephanie.call@vcuhealth.org

Taruna Aurora, MD

Taruna Aurora, MD

Assistant Professor

Taruna Aurora, MD

Taruna Aurora, MD

Assistant Professor

Division of Observation Medicine

Clinical Decision Unit Co-Director

Email: taruna.aurora@vcuhealth.org

Frank Fulco, MD, RPh

Frank Fulco, MD, RPh

Associate Professor

Frank Fulco, MD, RPh

Frank Fulco, MD, RPh

Associate Professor

Department of Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine Residency Associate Program Director

Email: frank.fulco@vcuhealth.org

Joel René Morrissey, MD

Joel René Morrissey, MD

Assistant Professor

Joel René Morrissey, MD

Joel René Morrissey, MD

Assistant Professor

Division of Observation Medicine

Email: joel.morrissey@vcuhealth.org

Joseph D. Romano, MD

Joseph D. Romano, MD

Assistant Professor

Joseph D. Romano, MD

Joseph D. Romano, MD

Assistant Professor

Email: joseph.d.romano@vcuhealth.org

Frank L. Zwemer, MD, MBA

Frank L. Zwemer, MD, MBA

Associate Professor

Frank L. Zwemer, MD, MBA

Frank L. Zwemer, MD, MBA

Associate Professor

Education and Faculty Development Chief

Email: frank.zwemer@vcuhealth.org

PGY-5

Kyle Taylor, MD

Kyle Taylor, MD

Chief Resident

Kyle Taylor, MD

Kyle Taylor, MD

Chief Resident

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: kyle.taylor@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Alan You, MD

Alan You, MD

Chief Resident

Alan You, MD

Alan You, MD

Chief Resident

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: alan.you@vcuhealth.org

Read More

PGY-4

James Humble, MD

James Humble, MD

James Humble, MD

James Humble, MD

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: james.humble@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Zach Zemore, MD

Zach Zemore, MD

Zach Zemore, MD

Zach Zemore, MD

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: zachary.zemore@vcuhealth.org

Read More

PGY-3

Burke Best, MD

Burke Best, MD

Burke Best, MD

Burke Best, MD

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: william.best@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Rebecca Goodwin, MD

Rebecca Goodwin, MD

Rebecca Goodwin, MD

Rebecca Goodwin, MD

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: rebecca.goodwin@vcuhealth.org

Read More

PGY-2

Joseph D. Lykins, MD

Joseph D. Lykins, MD

Joseph D. Lykins, MD

Joseph D. Lykins, MD

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: joseph.lykins@vcuhealth.org

Read More

Soberjot Singh, MD

Soberjot Singh, MD

Soberjot Singh, MD

Soberjot Singh, MD

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: soberjot.singh@vcuhealth.org

Read More

PGY-1

Hannah Kissel-Smith, MD

Hannah Kissel-Smith, MD

Hannah Kissel-Smith, MD

Hannah Kissel-Smith, MD

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: hannah.kissel-smith@vcuheatlh.org

Read More

Hillary Wiles-Lafayette, DO

Hillary Wiles-Lafayette, DO

Hillary Wiles-Lafayette, DO

Hillary Wiles-Lafayette, DO

Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine

Email: hillary.wilesLafayette@vcuhealth.org

Read More